top of page

Knitting in Circles


Hello and welcome to the first of my blogs. I've been knitting since I was 8 when, like most people, my mum and Nana first taught me how. Unlike my elder sibling who abandoned the craft after making the most holey scarf I'd ever seen, I kept on with it, and it grew into an obsession. For the last few years I've been knitting in circles and this is partly because I'm very comfortable using circular needles (not like older knitters who stick one straight needle under their arms). The other reason I think is because my brain works in circles.

What?

~Yes, my brain works in circles. Have you ever had a circular arguement with yourself? I bet you have. Well, sometimes (for me) having depression, means that my mind goes around in circles. I begin worrying about something bad that might happen (perhaps someone's late to meet me or I have a big appointment the next day), and then that thought gets repeated and twisted back on itself until it won't go away. I've described it like trying to go in a straight line when you're constantly being pulled into a black hole.

And I write like this too, sometimes (subject for another blog I think).

So now I knit like this, in circles. But the best thing is that if I start from the middle, I'm always knitting outwards! then the only thing I really have to consider is the huge increase in the number of stitches I have to knit as I spiral my way outwards.

The best thing is that this doesn't concern me at all.

bottom of page